About Martin

Martin brings a wealth of real-world experience in the fields of business, intellectual property and entertainment with over 20 years of experience as an entrepreneur and administrator in the hotel and food services industry, music producer / international DJ, radio host, record label owner and administrator, music publisher and distributor.

Having obtained his law degree from the University of Ottawa (2013), he successfully completed the four-month accelerated training of the Québec Bar School program and was subsequently called to the Québec Bar (2014).

In addition to business law, Martin focuses his practice in the areas of securities, intellectual property and entertainment law, namely trademarks, copyright, financing, liquor license and other permits, publicity contests, licensing, publishing, software development, manufacturing, new technologies, start-ups, franchises, artist representation and contract law.

Martin serves as general counsel for many businesses, overseeing relationships with other legal advisers in different jurisdictions and offering legal direction on day-to-day matters. Furthermore, Martin has garnered significant experience in corporate financing, private equity and securities.

Martin is a world traveler having visited more than 20 countries in his life time and is completely fluent in both English and French. He is also a member of the Intellectual Property Institute of Canada (IPIC), a member of the Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada (SOCAN) and a member of the Society for Reproduction Rights of Authors, Composer and Publishers in Canada (SODRAC).

mvilleneuve@brlex.com
t. 819.770.3888, ext 2
d. 819.893.5468

À propos de Martin

Martin dispose d’une vaste expérience acquise sur le terrain dans les domaines du divertissement, de la propriété intellectuelle et le monde des affaires avec plus de 20 ans d’expérience comme entrepreneur et gestionnaire dans le domaine de l’hôtellerie et restauration, producteur de musique / DJ international, animateur radio, propriétaire et gestionnaire de maison de disques, éditeur et distributeur de musique.

Détenteur d’une licence en droit de l’Université d’Ottawa (2013), Martin a complété avec succès la formation accélérée de quatre mois de l’École du Barreau du Québec et a été subséquemment admis au Barreau du Québec (2014).

Martin agit à titre de conseiller juridique auprès de nombreuses entreprises, notamment en offrant des conseils juridiques ajustés aux besoins courants et en régissant les relations avec d’autres conseillers juridiques de différentes juridictions. De plus, Martin a acquis une expérience significative en financement corporatif, en private equity et en valeurs mobilières.

En plus du droit des affaires, Martin concentre sa pratique dans les domaines des valeurs mobilières, de la propriété intellectuelle et du droit du divertissement, notamment les marques de commerce, le droit d’auteur, le financement, les permis d’alcool et autres permis, les concours publicitaires, les licences, les éditions, le développement de logiciels, les nouvelles technologies, la fabrication industrielle, les entreprises en démarrages, les franchises, la représentation d’artiste et le droit des contrats.

Martin est un globetrotter qui a visité plus de 20 pays au courant de sa vie, de plus, il parle et écrit couramment le français et l’anglais. Il est aussi membre de l’Institut de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (IPIC), membre de la Société canadienne des auteurs, compositeurs et éditeurs de musique (SOCAN) et membre de la Société du droit de reproduction des auteurs, compositeurs et éditeurs au Canada (SODRAC).

mvilleneuve@brlex.com
t. 819.770.3888, poste 2
d. 819.893.5468